Thursday, 31 May 2007

Cafe Independance

I was in Kyoto with Yumi doing some sightseeing, and she showed me this GREAT cafe.
The Atmosphere was so moody, very Indy. I love those Cafes! In Germany I was with my friends all the time in those places, so I enjoyed it alot to be with her there.

Generally, in Japan, Cafes are the places to go for women and couples. Men go to Family restaurants and Izakayas.

Japanese women love "Le Chic", anytime anywhere! And it does not matter how much it costs. Men want to live more Macho-like, so avoiding everything smooth is an Art for itself here.

Well but that should be written in another post ;)
Let's enjoy now these nice pictures :)


Very Indy atmosphere, with a Japanese counter and Western chairs and tables for the guests.

This set-up is found everywhere in Japan.
Why the counter is always Japanese is beyond me..


Yumi bought a Magazine called "The Big Issue". I didn't ask her about it even if she was trying to show it to me all the time, I was afraid of it!!
I thought, woah THE BIG issue... Too much for my poor feelings..
I'll ask her next time ;)

Wednesday, 30 May 2007

Japan, the Land of the vending machines..

To all of you who are wondering what is so special about Japanese vending machines I want to present you this picture!



Doesn't it look so bright in the night? Attracting you to buy some refreshments..
Saying to you, come to me.. come to me.. I am the Light..

The Japanese vending machine is an institution, it originated before the "convinient stores" which open 24h/d, the VM were usually the only way to get things 24h/d.
Even after the CS came the VM stayed as popular as ever.

Tuesday, 29 May 2007

The German JR train!


So I was returning from my friends house using a JR train and luckily I got the wrong one!!! =D
Instead of taking a "local" train which stops at every station, so also at the one I wanted to go out off, I got an express train which only stops at 3 or 4 stations.
To my surprise the whole train was decorated with publicity about Germany and German companies.
I felt very happy :)
I want to share this special view with you.
This German Logo was literally everywhere in the wagon!



I don't know why this guy is looking so happy at that map in front of him..
And the even more important question, why did he use so much gel in his hair??
He's doing the publicity for Lufthansa by the way!



Triumph, a famous company for bras and pants.. As usual.. Sex sells..Everywhere.

Wednesday, 23 May 2007

Perlen im Niemandsland

So when I first came to the dorm I'm living in, I got a real shock!
I was then calling the place I'm living in since then, simply: The hole.

Well after some touring at some night I found some very nice spots I want to share with you ;)
Explanation will come soon as I am lately very busy!





Monday, 21 May 2007

Jazz, jazz, jazz..

Hearing now!

Opening soundtrack From Lupin the Third.

Toudaiji

Attention! Long post ahead! Grab some Juice and Enjoy! ;D

Nara is one of the two cities which I like most in Japan (the other one being Kamakura), Nara is located between Osaka and Kyoto to the east.
It houses the "Toudaiji" temple, the biggest wooden structure in the world.
Because of it's size the Toudaiji is listed by the UNESCO as a world cultural heritage.
The present size is one third smaller then the original one, and yes it is really really big..
The Toudaiji is nearly 1250 years old. And till today the buddhist school of Kegon Buddhism which roots in Mahayana Buddhism practices it's daily religious activities.

The Todaiji represents classical Chinese temple complex architecture from the Tang dynasty.
With a wall-like structure surrounding a big field whith a small pond and a garden some important buildings and the main building at the backside.
and usually a pagode in the middle of the field which mysteriously is nowhere to find!



In our case there are Two big gates incorporated into the wall-like structure which
breaks the field into two smaller fields. With One gate looks put into the natural scenery surrounding it.
And the other one incorporated into a second wall delimiting the inner courtyard of the complex. Replacing the Pagode.
With that small map I hope you can get some feeling of how the complex is built.
It's very basic Buddhist temple architecture, and gives a good example of Asian buddhist temple architecture.
This picture shows the first gate:



The Toudaiji itself looks like this:



The people you are seeing are (from the left): Bebs, whom you should know by now ;)
Jerome also one of my best friends in the dorm, and Jion a very nice and kind Korean Girl who is a freshman in Japan and who is doing her first travel outside of Korea!!

Well but let's return to Todaiji ;)
So as you can see that's the big Building which is housing the main Object of worship for the Kegon sect: The "daibutsu".
The building itself as said resembles buildings from the Chinese Tang dynasty.
With some differences already very apparent. For example the introduction of additional structure to the roof.
So if you look very carefully the first roof has this "hat"-shaped additional structure to it.
This breakage of symmetry is typical for Japanese architecture.
A very famous example is the Hiunkaku in Kyoto.

After entering the Building you see the Big Buddha.
Which will not be covered here, But some nice picture to let you wait for more ;)



In the front of the temple complex there is a shopping street. Selling all sorts of touristic stuff.
I could imagine the old atmosphere.. People coming from all over the country to see the big Buddha and get salvation and doing some shopping around as is the case in every religious gathering place.



The Back of Toudaiji is very calm and nearly empty of toursits. No one really goes there actually ;)
Concerning touristic spots, everyone expects something to see from going to that place, after that need is satisfied people go to the next place to enjoy the "next big thing"! This is the badside of Toursim today, it's the try to make a big Movieland of culture which is thousands of years old.

So very interesting was that at the back of Todaiji you had a big green field were local poeple (I suppose) were enjoying their time!



And a very very special old street seeded with old Japanese priest houses, leading to the temple.



I hope you enjoyed this entry! Please enjoy my stories from Japan ;)

Bebs!


Bertrand (commonly known as Bebs) ;) is one of my best friends in the dorm, we did many things together, and I'm already starting to think about the time without him..
Well that's life, people come and go! I'm sure we'll keep in contact :)

Thursday, 10 May 2007

Salsa, Nara und Zurueck


So it was 11:30 when we went out for "nakamozu"-station where our hosts were waiting for us, a friend of Leo and the friend of the friend of Leo. I only slept 4 hours..

We go to oomiwa Jinja, the oldest Japanese shinto shrine, well many are said to be the oldest, so I will settle for the term, a very very old shinto shrine ;)
The picture of the carps is taken inside the shrine.


We had this wonderful view over Nara..

Monday, 7 May 2007

Salsa, Nara und Zurueck

So Hi everyone to my BIG blog update.

From the 28th till the 6th of May was golden week time in Japan! More then one week where people take off and go wherever they want ;)
Golden week is an instituition, many holidays meet in that time-frame within two weekends which makes many companies give people at that time holidays and/or people take them themselves ;)
Well, me being an avid workaholic, I thought bla, me? Golden week taking off? impossible..
The Result was that I took the whole golden week minus 1 & 1/2 days off! ;D
mmm, yeah definetely not good..

Let's kickstart the Blog Party ;)

"If you can't dance then you are not a cultural being", when my friend in Germany told me this, I thought he's crazy.
Now the only thing I can do is to qualify myself as the crazy one! ;)

Dance is wonderful, it's "movimentos", pure life and very very fun.
So right now I can dance a little bit of Salsa! Cuban style..
Next would be some Merenge and more elaborate Cuban Salsa, I like it very much!
So we have:

The people.. (This picture screems "movimentos" :D)



The Band! (The live band and 4DJs on the table..)


And the Host!! (Yeah Leo completely lost control in this picture..)



The Club was wonderful, professional, clean and filled with REAL dancers.. sweet, sweet..
After two shocks with women who were dancing miles away better then me I passed mostly my time looking, learning from 4 big pros and practising outside the stage!

Next time is REVANCHE! I promise ;)

We return 7 O'clock in the morning and I feel broken after 10 hours of partying..
And the others full of Energie making some jokes about some pills.. Well..

OK, it's 11 O'clock and the next event is awaiting me ;) NARA!! I'm coming!

Sunday, 6 May 2007

Look at this..

I was in a second hand bookstore, and what I found shocked my bones out of my body..
as a German, this makes me only shiver..





no comment..

Tuesday, 1 May 2007

Long time

Hi all! Long time no post but big update soon! :)