Saturday, 17 March 2007

The Japanese toilet (part2)

Well after you eat the tasty Okonomiyaki you need at some point in time to go to a toilet, the best place I know about in Japan is the traditional Japanese toilet.. Well in this case traditional does not necesseraly mean good ;)



After a conversation with some Japanese friends of me, they convinced me however that things look far worse in other countries.. For eg. in Tibet where the toilet is 5 meters above earthground to use the "human products" for further treatment in agriculture, so why 5 meters you would ask? Well the shape of these thrown products wuold form naturally a cone which dries out and is instantaneously ready..

Also very striking is the fact that generally in Japan after washing your hands you don't have paper or an air drier to dry them!
As you can see in this picture..



I should do some part 3 about Japanese toilets! So stay tuned :)
Or what about a toilet Blog?!

Tuesday, 13 March 2007

Okonomiyaki Madness!




Hello to all and welcome to a new Entry into my Blog!

Yesterday I went with very good friends of me, Jerome and Bertrand (two French), to eat in a very tasty korean restaurant, as Jerome is a Kankoku Ryouri Aficionado! (Korean food lover..), unfortunately the restaurant was closed so we searched for a cheap restaurant to eat as the French guys were very hungry and found a very nice Izakaya!
And to be honest, I ate in it the most delicious Okonomiyaki till that date!

What is Okonomiyaki? Well it is what you are seeing right now in that picture!
Well as you can see the topping consists of Mayonaise and thick brown sauce called okonomiyaki sauce (self explanatory) and something which looks like red-brown paper! Called Bonito-flakes!

Okonomiyaki is a famous fast food all around Japan, it originated in Kansai region around Osaka.It is also cooked at home not only outside but you need a special pan to cook it!

Well as food is generally very delicious in Osaka my only concern was only how delicious THIS Okonomiyaki will be!
And the answer does not really need words, take a look ;)

Thursday, 8 March 2007

Kiyomizudera, or why Japanese have no real Religion



Japan is a country without real religion (if religion at all)..

As hard as this statement seems to be, this is the plain truth.
Naturally you see wonderful shrines and temples everywhere, but these are leftovers from the Meiji restauration, tourist attractions like Asakusa are there to generate enormous quantities of money, or National Symbols without any meaning like the Itsukushima shrine maybe one of the most famous shot shrines, or even buildings, in Japan.

This leeds to me to one of my most important observations I did here, when you deal with Japanese people under 70 years, they are either atheists (they don't believe in anything) or they believe in them selves, or they believe in their ancestors..
The younger generation says even proudly that it does not believe in anything..
So whereas the "younger" generation does not have a religion the older (70+) does not have a real one in my opinion.

Me being a moslem, I only feel my stomach turning 360 degrees..

I never saw in my life a place where so many people don't believe in something!
It's incredible..

Well this brings me to Kiyomizudera, and my thoughts that everything #starts#, AND #ends# here :)

to be continued..

Round 2, FIGHT!

Ok So 3 months passed and the next 3 already started!
More old culture! More Friends! More Chicks ;) And the best of it all more PHYSICS!!

To tease you a little bit enjoy these nice pictures!
Which don't have any relation with what I wrote.. But should give you an idea about my mood right now :)



So this was actually a very strange storm! Everyone thought this night will be doomday, but nothing happened at the end!



Very nice Trip I had with Bebs to Kyoto, this picture is from a shrine exactly besides Kasuga-Taisha, I unfortunately forgot it's name!

This post is incomplete, warning! further reading may harm your brain..

Plum blossoming!


As you maybe know, Japanese is very famous for its Cherry blossoms!

BUT what you sure don't know is that Japan has the Plum blossoming as well! A Wonderful opener for spring and to be honest that's where you really get the feeling that life is sparkling again!
Viewing of the Plum blossoming is called "Kambai"
which is strikingly similar to "Kampai" :D